Man in high vis jacket writing on a tablet

"Fantastic course that I would highly recommend. The trainer was brilliant, got everyone involved and promoted the desire to learn."

Mick Dunn - FCC Environment

NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

The most widely requested qualification in health and safety by employers

What is the NEBOSH General Certificate?

The NEBOSH General Certificate is the most widely recognised health and safety qualification of its kind, providing line managers and staff with a sound understanding of the principles of risk management.

Why take the NEBOSH General Certificate?

87% of UK employers request the NEBOSH General Certificate course to improve health and safety skills and knowledge of managers, supervisors and staff in order to gain sustainable health and safety improvements. Quite simply, the NEBOSH General Certificate is a qualification that leads to safer workplaces.

NEBOSH qualifications are also specified in a significant number of health and safety job adverts, which means that individuals who hold the qualification will have much better job prospects.

Holders of the NEBOSH General Certificate can also apply for technical membership of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (Tech IOSH). Many students then progress to the NEBOSH National Diploma (Grad IOSH) and from there to chartered status (CMIOSH).

Why study with RoSPA?


NEBOSH Gold Learning Partner


Exceptional pass rates that exceed the national average


A delegate-centred approach to learning


Flexible learning options to suit you

What level is the NEBOSH General Certificate?

The NEBOSH General Certificate level is comparable to the NQF/QCF Level 3 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland which is equivalent to A-Level.

What does the NEBOSH General Certificate cover?

The NEBOSH General Certificate syllabus is divided into 2 units and covers 11 elements:

Unit NGC1: Management of health and safety
  1. Why we should manage workplace health and safety
  2. How health and safety management systems
  3. Managing risk - understanding people and processes
  4. Health and safety monitoring and measuring

It is recommended to do 20 self-study hours and the unit is assessed by a two-hour written exam consisting of ten short questions and one long answer. Papers are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH. Candidates must achieve 45% to pass this unit.

Unit 2: Risk assessment
  1. Physical and psychological health
  2. Musculoskeletal health
  3. Chemical and biological agents
  4. General workplace issues
  5. Work equipment
  6. Fire
  7. Electricity

It is recommended to do 20 self-study hours and the unit is assessed by a three-hour practical assessment. Candidates must achieve 45% to pass this unit.

A ‘pass’ must be achieved in both units to achieve the National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety.

You must complete all units within 5 years to achieve the full NEBOSH General Certificate qualification.

How do I take the NEBOSH General Certificate?

There are three different ways to study towards the NEBOSH General Certificate.


Our accredited training centres allow you to get away from the distractions of the workplace and focus on your qualification


If you can’t find time in your busy schedule to attend a classroom course, then studying the NEBOSH General Certificate Online is the answer


We can visit your workplace and deliver the course at a time and place to suit you. This is an effective way of training several delegates at the same time, saving on time and travel costs

What is NEBOSH?

Visit our NEBOSH FAQ's to see your questions about NEBOSH answered.

Contact Us

Sales Enquiries
+44 (0)121 248 2233
RoSPA House, 28 Calthorpe Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 1RP, UK
Contact form